A Trip to the Beach

 

We took a day trip to the beach yesterday (another reason why I love living in the center of NC!).  We went to Ft. Fisher so we could go to the aquarium, drive on the beach, and be close to public restrooms and changing rooms.  For a day trip to the beach, it is hard to beat Ft. Fisher. 

We have an annual zoo pass which let us get into the aquarium for free.  This was especially nice because we did not have to worry about “getting our money’s worth.”  We could leave as soon as the girls had had enough.  And with the promise of being on the beach, it wasn’t long before they were ready to go.

Leah was a little leery of how close we were to the alligators.  They were right at the glass wall.  Hailey enjoyed making an octopus out of a paper towel tube and yarn at the craft table.  I enjoyed the flowers on the pathway outside (hence my new header).

Driving/riding on the beach was a first for all of us.  It was like being on our own personal roller coaster.  I think my Escape enjoyed it as well.  It was awesome to be able to back right up to the water and not have to hike across a parking lot and lots of sand with toys, chairs, towels, etc.

The water was quite cold so we did not bother with bathing suits…as you can see, the cold water did not faze Hailey.  Luckily we had changes of clothes. 

I was excited to get to take pictures of the girls in their white dresses.  I would like to take then again in the early morning when the sun is in a better place and the wind is not so strong, but these are all very sweet.

If you click on the pictures below, it will allow you to see the picture a little larger.

Enjoy!

 

 

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Trip to the Beach

  1. jamiestamm says:

    Gorgeous photos! It looks like you had a wonderful trip!

  2. Heidi says:

    LOVE the beach photos! They turned out really cute. And what a great backdrop- our beach is not nearly as pretty!

  3. burnsblog says:

    I love the pictures!! You are quite a photographer! There is nothing better than driving out on Carolina Beach — especially this time of year when it isn’t so crowded.

  4. emilypage says:

    Thanks Jamie, Heidi, and Amy! Anyone who has been to my office will tell you that I love to take pictures of my girls!

  5. kweenmama says:

    You ARE a really good photographer. Some of those pics could be published! Your post makes me want to head to the beach!

Leave a Reply

