My Best of Lee County

I am so shamelessly stealing this blog idea from Billy Liggett…thanks for the idea, Billy!

blue ribbon (large) 

In the category of FOOD: 

Best Milkshake – Java Express – this is a new discovery for me.  I treated Leah to a milkshake today while Hailey was at art.  It was WAY too big for a 2 year old so I HAD to sneak some tastes.  It was the perfect amount of chocolate, it was creamy without being too sweet and it was thick without feeling like you were going to suck the straw up through your brain. 

Best Appetizers/Bar Food – Local Joe’s - the Potato Skins are super thick and covered in cheese and bacon and the onion rings are just right.

Best Spinach Dip – Jennifer St. Clair…but you can’t just call up and order take-out from her house.  La Dolce Vita has the creamiest, but Hams wins my vote by virtue of the bacon on top.  Bacon makes just about anything better!

Best Bacon Cheeseburger (see, there’s the bacon again!) – For years I would have said Big T’s but Andy’s wins the prize.  I just wish they wouldn’t all yell hello at you when you walk in.  It annoys me.  Also try Local Joe’s burgers as a wrap!

Best Frozen Mocha – Java Express.  hands down.

Best Breakfast – Waffle House – we love having breakfast for dinner!

Best Chinese Food – King Chinese Buffet

Best Sandwich – Vidalia Chicken Salad at Java Express – make sure you get it with a side of warmed potato salad.

Best Comfort Food – Dairy Bar!

In the category of SHOPPING:

Best place to buy clothes – Maurice’s - cute and affordable

Best place to buy “trendy” clothes, purses, and shoes – Hallmark

Best place to buy accessories – Tie between Shops of Steele Street and Maurice’s

Best place to buy gifts – Shops of Steele Street

Best place to buy art supplies – Hobby Shop

Best place to buy educational supplies – Building Knowledge

Best place to buy dance shoes – Payless

In the category of SERVICES:

Best Lawyer/Law Firm – Ed Page at Page Law Office, of course!

Best Child Care – Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children’s Center

Best Home Repair – RSJ Construction 

Best Heating/Air – 72 degrees - We had to get a new furnace and all new duct-work and they were awesome!

Best Realtors – Linda McNeill (Central Carolina Realty) and Shane Cox (Prudential)

Best Security System Provider – CPI

Best Car Repair Shop – Perry Brothers

Best OBGYN/Midwife – Wesley Tyler

Best Pediatrician – Andy Tuss…except he moved to TN (traitor) so the jury is still out on this one!

Best Dentist – Dr. Thomas Hincks

Best Dog Boarding – Rae-Zor Boarding, Grooming, and Daycare - finally a place our dogs LOVE to be while we are on vacation!

Best “class” for kids – Art classes by Lisa Mathis at Art Studio

Best Bargain – Gymnastics and Dance classes through Lee County Parks and Recreation

I’m sure there are plenty of things that I missed that I will kick myself for later…but I have been writing this outside on my deck and Leah just came outside wearing a shirt, panties, and two different colored socks. 

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Sanford and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Best of Lee County

  1. Cathy says:

    WHere is Wesley Tyler’s office?

  2. emilypage says:

    Wesley is now part of Carolina Women’s Health Center on Carthage street.

Leave a Reply

