Dreaming of Target

Target.com Home PageI think I have heard rumors about Target coming to town for the entire 7 years we have lived in Sanford.  If they ever do open a store here, you can bet we will be faithful shoppers.  We do most of our shopping in Sanford to support local businesses, but I can’t live without my Target trips.  Both mine and Ed’s parents live in Raleigh so we are in Raleigh on the weekend several times a month.  It is very hard to keep me away from Target if there is one within 5 miles.  It really seems a crime to not stop in! Even Hailey will ask to go to Target.  She doesn’t even care if we buy anything for her, there is just something about shopping there that puts us in a better mood (except for Ed…I’m sure he wouldn’t care if we never went to Target again.)  Each of the girls got a puppet for $1.  They were well worth the $2 to have them interacting with each other in a positive manner in the car.  I was most excited with my $10 pajama set and $4 pajama bottoms.  My two favorite pajama bottoms are absolutely disintegrating.  My absolute favorties ones are from mine and Ed’s first Christmas 9 years ago and it will be a very sad day when I have to give them up…which will be soon.

The best thing about Target is that you can find furniture, decorative items, bedding, etc. that has the look of more expensive stores but is a lot cheaper.  The quality certainly isn’t the same but when you live with two small children, two dogs, and a kitten, you just can’t justify the more expensive products. 

Other reasons I love Target: 

  1. My mom is lucky enough to live within minutes of two Target stores and she is always getting steals on children’s clothing.
  2. I was in a bind while in Greensboro at a conference and looked all over Four Seasons Mall and even Kohls for a pair of black dress shoes.  I finally found a pair at Target that are one of the most comfortable pairs of shoes I own and I wear them all the time…and they were much cheaper and cuter than the ones I saw in the mall.
  3. Besides Babies R Us, Target has one of the best selections of products to support breastfeeding moms and breastfed babies (or at least they did when I actually needed the products!)
  4. Target has a great selection of baby products, car seats, toys, children’s furniture and bedding, etc. It is truly a one-stop shop for busy parents.
  5. The $1 spot!  I have gotten some really cool stuff from that section of Target and the inventory is always changing.
  6. The book selection is much larger than Wal Mart and you can always count on finding new releases, best sellers, book club selections, great children’s books, and unique books.
  7. The seasonal department is amazing.  We always find great things in this department and if you can wait until the season or holiday is over, you can get great products for 75% (or more) off the original price.  My mom always helps the center stock up on washable markers when they are put on clearance after school starts.

I could go on and on, but you get the point.  I do like our new Super Wal-Mart but it just isn’t the same.  And for pity’s sake, will someone PLEASE organize that place a little better?  I had to buy a new vacuum for the center recently and it was like a scavenger hunt…there were vacuums on several different aisles, on the end caps, and even in the main aisle.  How can you compare them when they are that spread apart?  And do you have any idea how many different places they have storage bins?  And who decided to put office supplies in the middle of the craft section??

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Sanford and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

